Argument as Conversation

When reading this article there were a number of ideas that I could relate to as I begin my research. The first one of those was the idea of ‘entering the conversation’. For me, my question was based around the effects that body language has on an individual. This topic has been researched in the past and my job is to “enter the conversation” and continue to find information that relates to the topic. What I research will have come from other people’s research and as a result I am joining the conversation.

Greene compares the two ideas of reading as inquiry vs reading as a search for information. What I understood from it was “reading as inquiry” relates to somebody who researches for their own personal questions and something they are interested in whilst “reading as a search for information” refers to education where you are reading just to obtain as much information as you can on that topic.

The term “framing” refers to the reader as they name their position before they enter the argument. Topics can be researched from many different directions but the concept of “framing” your research encourages you to choose what direction you want to approach from. You can see this from a number of writers and as an example, Turkle approaches technology from a negative point of view and it very biased towards the con side of technology.

In my inquiry project, watching the Ted talk by Amy Cuddy on body language has given me the baseline idea on the topic and has opened my eyes in relation to where my research may take me. Before watching this video, I had no idea about any of the information Cuddy referred to in her speech. I think having read “Argument as Conversation”, it has made me think about researching from different perspectives. It is important when researching that I understand that those who have already researched the topic are part of the conversation and that my research is just a continuation and there is no set or defined answer to be looking for. The conversation will continue even when I finish my research and new ideas may change the way people in the future approach their inquiry.

Leave a Reply

